National Association for Pupil Transportation sees new board leadership

The National Association for Pupil Transportation is pleased to announce the results of its recently held elections for President-Elect, Region 4 Director, and Affiliate Director. Results were announced on the Trade Show floor at the Closing Business Meeting of the 46th Annual Conference in Columbus, OH, followed by an email announcement to all voting members.

The results of the 2023 NAPT® election are:

  • Keith Kaup, CDPT (TX) – President-Elect
  • Rosalyn Vann-Jackson, MBA, CDPT (OK) – Region 4 Director
  • Maritza Valentin – Affiliate Director

“The past month has been a triumphant success for NAPT® with the return of our Annual Conference and an election which brought a strong and diverse group of industry professionals to our association leadership,” says NAPT® President Teena Mitchell, CDPT, CSNT (SC). “I look forward to serving as President alongside this extraordinary group of professionals. We are set up for great success, under Molly McGee Hewitt’s direction, and are determined to take NAPT® to new heights!”

Mitchell held the position of President-Elect for the past two years under then President, Rick Grisham, E.d.S. (SC). She was officially sworn in as President at the Annual Conference as Grisham’s term came to an end.

“It is thrilling to witness leadership growth and to welcome new members to the board! Our Board of Directors is comprised of industry leaders, who bring a wealth of knowledge to the table; they are committed to providing meaningful counsel to NAPT®. I look forward to their contributions and direction as, together, we continue the important work of ensuring safe and efficient transportation for every student at the national level,” said Molly McGee Hewitt, PhD, CAE, NAPT® Executive Director and CEO. “Please join me in welcoming the newly elected NAPT® Board Members.”

Keith Kaup, CDPT, Director of Transportation for Pearland ISD (TX) was elected to serve as President-Elect. Kaup outpolled Karim Johnson, CDPT, CSNT, NYCDT, Executive Director of Pupil Transportation Services for Stafford County Public Schools (VA) and Todd Silverthorn, Transportation Supervisor for Kettering City Schools (OH). Keith is elected to a four-year term, two years as President-Elect, and two years as President.

“It has been an honor to serve our members for the past several years as Region 4 Director, where I had the opportunity to be part of the leadership that developed a new strategic plan, managed a successful executive transition, and brought back NAPT®’s signature Annual Conference and Trade Show after a four-year hiatus,” says Kaup. “The future is bright for our association; I am eager to continue our work while serving all regions and members during my four-year term in the presidential capacity.”

Region 4 Director
Rosalyn Vann-Jackson, MBA, CDPT (OK), Chief Support Services Officer for Broken Arrow Public Schools, ran unopposed and was therefore elected by acclamation to serve a three-year term as Region 4 Director.

Vann-Jackson will succeed Kaup; representing NAPT® members in Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Texas.

Affiliate Director
Maritza Valentin, National Account Manager for AMF-Bruns of America was elected to serve as Affiliate Director. Valentin outpolled Kimberly Martin, Industry Engagement Consultant for Tyler Technologies, who previously held the position for one two-year term.

Valentin will represent the NAPT® business partner member community.

A special note of thanks to Kimberly Martin for her longstanding commitment, candor, and outstanding contributions made during her time on the board as Affiliate Director.

Thank you to everyone who participated in the election, particularly the candidates. Congratulations again to Keith, Rosalyn, and Maritza